HomePoliticsNarendra Modi becomes Prime Minister for third consecutive time

Narendra Modi becomes Prime Minister for third consecutive time

Narendra Modi has been sown-in as prime minister of India for the third time in a row on Sunday evening.

President Droupadi Murmu administered the oath of the office of the prime minister to Modi in the premises of the Rashtrapati Bhavan, where hundreds of dignitaries, including leaders of neighboring countries, were present.

Rajnath Singh, Amit Shah, Nitin Gadkari, BJP president JP Nadda, Nirmala Sitharaman, S Jaishankar, Manohar Lal Khattar and Piyush Goel were among the first ones to take oath as ministers after Prime Minister Narendra Modi.

Shivraj Singh Chouhan, the five-time MP from Vidisha and the longest-serving chief minister of Madhya Pradesh, also got inducted into the union cabinet.

JD (S) leader and former Karnataka chief minister HD Kumaraswamy, ex-Bihar chief minister Jitan Ram Manjhi of HAM and Chirag Paswan of LJP (Ram Vilas) were some of the ministers from NDA-member parties who took oath along with Modi.

The Modi 3.0 cabinet includes 30 other Cabinet Ministers, 5 Minister of State with Independent Charge and 36 Ministers of State.

Also Read: Modi asks oath-taking leaders to stay in Delhi for next 24 hours

President of Sri Lanka  Ranil Wickremesinghe, President of Maldives, Mohamed Muizzu, Vice-President of Seychelles. Ahmed Afif, Prime Minister of Bangladesh Sheikh Hasina, Prime Minister of Mauritius, Pravind Kumar Jugnauth, Prime Minister of Nepal Pushpa Kamal Dahal ‘Prachanda’ and Prime Minister of Bhutan Tshering Tobgay attended the grand ceremony held in the impressive forecourt of Rashtrapati Bhavan.

Modi has retained top ministers from his previous government for key cabinet positions, with multiple positions allotted to the NDA allies.

As many 8,000 guests, including national and international leaders and the film stars were invited to attend the swearing-in ceremony.

The guests are to attend a banquet hosted by President Murmu at Rashtrapati Bhavan, after the ceremony gets over.

In the just-concluded 2024 general elections, the BJP secured 240 seats while the NDA alliance bagged 293 seats, securing a majority.

Whereas the Congress won 99 seats, while the INDIA bloc bagged 234 seats.