HomeSportsWhat Lionel Messi's 8th Ballon d'Or means for Inter Miami; read HERE

What Lionel Messi’s 8th Ballon d’Or means for Inter Miami; read HERE

For the first time in history, Lionel Messi, while actively playing in Major League Soccer (MLS) for Inter Miami, was awarded the Ballon d'Or

Aitana Bonmati and Lionel Messi both earned the Golden Ball award as the tournament’s Most Valuable Player (MVP) while helping their respective teams win the World Cup trophy in the past year.

Lionel Messi wins record 8th Ballon d’Or

For the first time in history, Lionel Messi, while actively playing in Major League Soccer (MLS) for Inter Miami, was awarded the Ballon d’Or, making him the first current MLS player to achieve this honor. Although several former Ballon d’Or winners have concluded their careers in the United States, Messi’s win in MLS marks a significant moment.

The award ceremony featured Inter Miami’s co-owners, Jorge Mas and David Beckham, who walked the red carpet alongside MLS Commissioner Don Garber. Beckham had the privilege of presenting the award to Messi, creating a historic link between Inter Miami and the Ballon d’Or, which was celebrated by the MLS community.

What Lionel Messi’s Ballon d’Or means for Inter Miami

While this historic achievement may not necessarily grant MLS the legitimacy it has always sought, it does establish a precedent. The reigning Ballon d’Or holder has chosen to represent MLS. When asked about his retirement plans after receiving the award, Lionel Messi replied that he didn’t know how much longer he would continue playing football.

Here’s the full ranking of the Ballon d’Or men’s award for 2023:

1: Lionel Messi (PSG, Inter Miami & Argentina) 2: Erling Haaland (Man City & Norway) 3: Kylian Mbappe (PSG & France) 4: Kevin De Bruyne (Man City & Belgium) 5: Rodri (Man City & Spain) 6: Vinicius Junior (Real Madrid & Brazil) 7: Julian Alvarez (Man City & Argentina) 8: Victor Osimhen (Napoli & Nigeria) 9: Bernardo Silva (Man City & Portugal) 10: Luka Modric (Real Madrid & Croatia) 11: Mohamed Salah (Liverpool & Egypt) 12: Robert Lewandowski (Barcelona & Poland) 13: Yassine Bounou (Sevilla, Al Hilal & Morocco) 14: Ilkay Gundogan (Man City, Barcelona & Germany) 15: Emiliano Martinez (Aston Villa & Argentina) 16: Karim Benzema (Real Madrid, Al Ittihad & France) 17: Khvicha Kvaratskhelia (Napoli & Georgia) 18: Jude Bellingham (Dortmund, Real Madrid & England) 19: Harry Kane (Spurs, Bayern Munich & England) 20: Lautaro Martinez (Inter & Argentina) 21: Antoine Griezmann (Atletico Madrid & France) 22: Kim Min-jae (Napoli, Bayern Munich & South Korea) 23: Andre Onana (Inter, Man Utd & Cameroon) 24: Bukayo Saka (Arsenal & England) 25: Josko Gvardiol (RB Leipzig, Man City & Croatia) 26: Jamal Musiala (Bayern Munich & Germany) 27: Nicolo Barella (Inter & Italy) 28= Martin Odegaard (Arsenal & Norway) 28= Randal Kolo Muani (PSG & France) 30: Ruben Dias (Man City & Portugal)

हमें Facebook पर लाइक करें Twitter , Kooapp और YouTube पर फॉलो करें। Vidhan News पर विस्तार से पढ़ें ताजा-तरीन खबर।