HomeTrendingInjured Mohammed Siraj released from India's ODI squad against West Indies

Injured Mohammed Siraj released from India’s ODI squad against West Indies

India vs West Indies: The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) said on Thursday that fast bowler Mohammed Siraj has been removed from Team India’s roster for the ODI series against the West Indies as a preventative measure after complaining of a sore ankle.

Prior to the three-match ODI series against the West Indies, which is scheduled to begin on Thursday at the Kensington Oval Barbados, Siraj complained of a sore ankle. The bowler was instructed to relax by the BCCI medical staff as a preventative measure.

The 29-year-old pacer’s position in the ODI squad has not been filled by a substitute player, according to the Team India management. In order to officially announce Siraj’s departure from the ODI team, BCCI issued a statement.

“Mohd. Siraj has been released from Team India’s ODI squad ahead of the three-match series against the West Indies. The right-arm pacer has a sore ankle and as a precautionary measure has been advised rest by the BCCI medical team. The team has not called for a replacement player for the ODI series, which commences on July 27, 2023 in Barbados,” a BCCI statement said.

Siraj was expected to lead a pace attack that also includes the all-rounder Hardik Pandya, Jaydev Unadkat, Shardul Thakur, Mukesh, and Umran Malik while Mohammed Shami remained rested.

The right-arm pacer’s last ODI was against Australia in March 2022 at home. He finished the series with five wickets, the most for India and the series’ second most. Siraj’s 43 ODI wickets since the start of 2022 are the most by an Indian bowler.

After the conclusion of the WI tour, India will take part in the Asia Cup from the end of August to the middle of September, followed by a three-game home series against Australia in September, during a hectic time leading up to the domestic ODI World Cup in October.

India’s updated ODI squad:

Rohit Sharma (Captain), Shubman Gill, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Virat Kohli, Surya Kumar Yadav, Sanju Samson (wicket-keeper), Ishan Kishan (wicket-keeper), Hardik Pandya (vice-captain), Shardul Thakur, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Jaydev Unadkat, Umran Malik, Mukesh Kumar.